Free upcoming Star Net webinars

 
From: "Sharon Rawlins srawlins@njstatelib.org " ...@njstatelib.org>
Subject: Free upcoming Star Net webinars
Date: May 15th 2018

FYI,

 

Join STAR Net for three upcoming webinars – come share your own ideas and ask questions of the presenters! (These will also be recorded in case you can’t join the live events.)

 

The Parker Solar Probe Launch: How Will Your Library Be Involved?

Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 3:00 p.m. (EDT), 2:00 p.m. (CDT), 1:00 p.m. (MDT), 12:00 p.m. (PDT), 11:00 a.m. (AKDT), 9:00 a.m. (HST)

Register Here

 

In the summer of 2018, NASA will launch the Parker Solar Probe. This small, car-sized spacecraft will travel into the Sun’s atmosphere, within four million miles of our star’s surface. Join Space Science Institute’s Brooks Mitchell and Dr. Paul Dusenbery to learn all about NASA’s first mission to “touch” the Sun and ways that your library can be involved.

 

 

Reaching New Audiences with Community Dialogues

Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 4:00 p.m. (EDT), 3:00 p.m. (CDT), 2:00 p.m. (MDT), 1:00 p.m. (PDT), 12:00 p.m. (AKDT), 10:00 a.m. (HST)

Register Here

 

Staff at the National Center for Interactive Learning at the Space Science Institute have developed a Community Dialogue Strategy to empower public libraries to examine their existing practices, and reach out to their community to ensure that their library is a welcoming and safe environment. This strategy was developed and tested with funds from the National Institutes of Health, NASA and National Science Foundation as part of the STAR Library Education Network. Community Dialogues encourage libraries to ask the questions “who is missing from my library” and “who in the community would be a great partner for my library.” In this webinar, participants will learn more about this innovative strategy, and hear from public library staff who have made positive changes to their practice based on results from their own Dialogues.

 

 

Libraries Helping Girls STEAM Ahead with NASA

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 at 3:00 p.m. (EDT), 2:00 p.m. (CDT), 1:00 p.m. (MDT), 12:00 p.m. (PDT), 11:00 a.m. (AKDT), 9:00 a.m. (HST)

Register Here

 

The Girls STEAM Ahead with NASA (GSAWN) initiative is again partnering with public libraries to provide NASA-themed activities for girls and their families. Part of the NASA’s Universe of Learning program, GSAWN resources include a range of computer-based and paper-based activities, along with exhibits and poster series. During this webinar, you will hear about the GSAWN project, why girl-serving programming is important and needed, and the range of resources available to your library. There will be time for questions so we can address any concerns and best support your library efforts.

 

 

Keliann

««««« »»»»»

Keliann LaConte
Professional Development Manager
National Center for Interactive Learning

Space Science Institute

Boulder, Colorado

720-974-5835

www.nc4il.org

www.starnetlibraries.org

 

Inspire – Explore – Discover

 

The STAR Library Network (STAR Net) is a hands-on learning network for libraries and their communities across the country. STAR Net focuses on helping library professionals build their STEM skills by providing “science-technology activities and resources” (STAR) and training to use those resources. Plus, engage public audiences nationwide in informal and lifelong learning with the excitement of NASA exploration and discovery through new NASA@ My Library resources!

 

STAR Net is built upon a strong network of collaborators and partners, led by the Space Science Institute’s (SSI) National Center for Interactive Learning (NCIL). Partners include the American Library Association’s Public Programs Office, Afterschool Alliance, Cornerstones of Science, Datum Advisors, Education Development Center, Lunar and Planetary Institute, and the Pacific Science Center. Major funding is provided by the National Science Foundation, NASA Science Mission Directorate, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

 

View our full webinar series at www.starnetlibraries.org/resources/webinars/.

 

The NJ State Library is providing this for informational purposes only.

 

Forwarded by:

 

Sharon Rawlins, MLS

Youth Services Specialist for Lifelong Learning

NJ State Library

185 West State St.

P.O. Box 520

Trenton, NJ 08625-0520

...@njstatelib.org">sraw...@njstatelib.org

609-278-2640 ext. 116

609-278-2650 – fax

CSLP 2017-2018 Past President

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following information is a reminder of your current mailing list subscription:

You are subscribed to NJYAC using exam...@example.com

You may automatically unsubscribe from this list at any time by visiting the following URL:

If the above URL is inoperable, make sure that you have copied the entire address. Some mail readers will wrap a long URL and thus break this automatic unsubscribe mechanism.

You may also change your subscription by visiting this list's main screen:

http://lists.njstatelib.org/cgi-bin/dada/mail.cgi/list/njyac

If you're still having trouble, please contact the list owner at:

...@njstatelib.org"> sraw...@njstatelib.org

Unsubscribe Automatically:
Forward to a Friend
 
 
  • This mailing list is a public mailing list - anyone may join or leave, at any time.
  • This mailing list requires approval from the List Owner, before subscriptions are finalized.

  • This mailing list is a group discussion list (unmoderated)
  • Start a new thread, email: njy...@njstatelib.org

NJSL Youth Services Discussion List

Privacy Policy:

-

Go back to New Jersey State Library